Poets logo

Uncertainty

Shadow self

By Erin BarteskiPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Uncertainty
Photo by Tanya Trofymchuk on Unsplash

It's fleeting

But it comes in moments throughout the day

Sparks of recognition

I forget he exists

Then I remember

And the sadness drowns me again

It consumes my entire being

I grieve him even though he is still alive

Truth be told

Sometimes I liked the chaos

The highs and lows of uncertainty

Where did we stand?

I am over trying to prove my worth

To someone who can't see how amazing I am

I might not find another whose words flowed so easily

But I also won't allow you to hurt me any longer

I hope you are content with your downgrade

Because I am the only me

I will not stoop to the pettiness of your level

Your fight is with yourself

It has nothing to do with me

The difference is I've battled my shadow

And come out the other side.

sad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Erin Barteski

Fascination with the unknown

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 5 months ago

    This is so empowering and an enjoyable read

  • Gosh this was so heartbreaking because it was relatable. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.