Poets logo

Illusive Sleep

writing this half awake

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Illusive Sleep
Photo by Hernan Sanchez on Unsplash

Sleep illudes me

I lay in wait to pounce but it never comes

All my efforts in vain

And my brain is active and churning

Everlasting source of burning

Questions

Irrelevant and untimely

There only to untie me

And be a source for anxiety

Buzzing in my head all flittering to no end

Until I give in and reach out to the side of the bed

Right this moment I need to know “how tall is Kevin Hart?”

Or maybe “what’s the fastest land animal?”, I forgot

Until I find the answers my head won’t sit and lay

And let me fall asleep after such a long day

**

Next day at work I’m leaning

I know my brain is reeling

Its lamenting the choice to stay awake

As it now feels headache

Sleep is needed to wash away the day’s trouble

Without it, you could end up seeing double

Feeling like an infant with no neck muscle

Can’t keep my head straight up, it’s a struggle

And I’m expected to work and hustle

While hiding the inward scuffle

Myself with my brain in the context of pain

While trying to keep appearances of one who’s sane

**

Writing this poem got the motors running

My brain is slowly waking

I hope this is maintaining

Until the end of day

But when I get home

I promise I will fall asleep chasing

The missed hours of the last cycle

Hey bed, await my arrival

social commentary

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    This was so relatable! Hope you get to catch up on those lost sleep!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I can definitely relate to this. Great job, Mohhammed!

  • Great piece ❤️😉💯📝👌

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    So relatable, so well expressed. Thank you for this, Mohammed!2

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.