Poets logo

Out of My Reach

We all have that perfect idea that slips from our fingertips

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Out of My Reach
Photo by Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

The desire is there, but the concept is fleeting

The poem is forming in a mind cloud...

But its quickly dispersed

Distractions fluster the mind and its cursed

To repeat the loop of the beginning

And further seems thinning

The idea in the mind

Forever gone, disturbed

And then it comes back!

Fighting and clawing while it’s abstract

Gets Packed and its maxed

With substance to impact

I feel it right there so majestic and intact

I reach for it and screech

I’m closing in with a leash

I can taste it! My mind fabrications I can finally unleash!

And then it puffs again and flees

-

The idea was just there, taunting me

Outside of my reach flaunting

Its magnificence in my face

But I couldn’t close it out with grace

So now I’ll just sit back and face

The disappointment in my mind space

Of having an idea right there in my grasp

And not being able to act on it or clasp

The concept it was offering me

And the comfort that was stolen from me.

-

Now the idea will be buzzing around

Abstract, to never be found

Never forming into a complete thought

Until it’s noticed again. A plan that’s fraught

With problems and struggles

Because reality is riddled in distractions and fuddles

performance poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is so relatable. Well done.

  • Okay this was so freaking relatable! You've written it so beautifully!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji11 months ago

    very relatable. I love the way you used imagery. great poem

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Oh my, Mohammed, I felt that one in my bones! Fantastic imagery of something I face quite often. Great job! Come on top story!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    It's a constant battle and you described it perfectly!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    So relatable!

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.