Poets logo

If You Were Blind

If you were blind, would you still think me beautiful?

By Emily N. DeFallaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

If your eyes couldn’t see what was optimal,

what the world decided is favorable,

what media taught you is desirable, would you still think me beautiful?

If the picture in your mind was just a light you see,

the brightness decided by my energy,

the only marker of your need for me,

was the truth inside me that no eyes can see?

If you could hear no sound, would you listen to me?

Would my words still bring you peace serine?

Would you hang on every idea I share, believing me so worthy of care?

Would this pedestal you perched me on,

be still as high without the volume on?

If my skin you couldn’t feel, if my scent you couldn’t catch.

If you couldn’t taste my essence in the moments of romance.

If you could know me only by the truth in my soul.

If the only things to judge me by, were the parts I can’t control.

If you couldn’t watch me walk away, if you couldn’t see me leave,

would you still crave every piece of me,

would you still think me fit to be your queen?

If your senses couldn’t identify, a mystery locked deep inside.

If my playful ways, and teasing style,

couldn’t enchant you, and set your world on fire.

If you could never get lost, in my big round eyes,

if my odd perspective, didn’t challenge your mind.

If my journey to now couldn’t inspire respect.

If my fragile condition didn’t awaken protectiveness.

If my strange little ways didn’t pique your interest.

Would I still be the girl of your dreams?

If you were blind, would I still be beautiful?

surreal poetrysocial commentarylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Emily N. DeFalla

Weaving dreams into reality, magic spun into the mundane. Staying grounded firmly in fantasy, adventure hidden in boring and plain. I've been there, I've felt that. The insane crippling agony of this world. The amazing breath taking joy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.