Poets logo

If You Think...

You Can Stop Me, You Can't

By Cezanne LibellenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
If You Think...
Photo by aboodi vesakaran on Unsplash

.

If you think

I will be silenced

By a hateful comment

By your oppressive views

(And you claim mine are oppressive)

The tables have turned

When they should be burned

Why must one view be dominant?

Why must there be a minority? An underdog?

You cannot force your opinions on others

I don't force mine on you

I express it when necessary.

And respect your right to express yours

And I expect the same from you.

If you're offended, then keep it to yourself

You expect that from us,

But you are allowed to speak against us?

I'm not calling out ideologies

I'm calling out hypocrisy.

"Decent" people are expected to remain silent

When passing things they don't agree with

You should expect the same from yourself

When reading this poem.

...

Please do not be rude or hateful in the comments.

You will be reported.

You do not have to agree with me.

But you do not have to be rude either.

And I call out to those on Vocal who feel oppressed, whether you are white, black, Asian, male, female, young, old, straight, queer, or anything I didn't mention.

Raise your voices. Don't let yourself be silenced.

Thank you.

inspirationalsocial commentaryslam poetry

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Well said, and I agree.

  • Totally agree with you. We can always disagree with people in a polite way. Loved your poem!

  • Real Poeticabout a year ago

    Speak the truth!

Cezanne LibellenWritten by Cezanne Libellen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.