Poets logo

If Walls could talk

I can't believe after...

By Sandra Doughty (.MS GYPSY)Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
4
Unsplash

I can't believe after all my years I have stood hear

through countless births, many deaths, tornadoes

flying- most being water spouts, I'm just blocks

off the Gulf

families in and out, good times and some bad

I have to say 'this go around almost did me in.

but here I am standing alone on this beautiful

corner of land waiting for a new plan.

I live in the oldest part of our city- if you could

see it now you would say "what a pity".

The waters surround me, I always get a wonderful breeze

I remember when I was beautiful and new -

now I'm always blue.

Built to withstand any storm that comes through-

I sure hoped it was true.

One storm being hurricane Camille. Her fury blew

in and rattled my soul, shook my rafters, but never

did they fall.

Camille did not stand tall, she barely got up to my door,

only about three feet tall, she never came in at all .

I was was only twenty two back then, can't pretend

it was quite a fright.

The family stayed with me in my attic- it was very

hectic all around, they all knew they could count on me

to keep them safe and sound.

I have to say "Camille was really quite kind"

that day in 1969.

They say the worse part of Camille hit a few towns away

right next to the Bay.

I was built extra strong ,iron crisscrossed on every side

with brick to stabilize.

My owner had the ironworks and welding company

built us both the same year 1947. Then Ms. Momma

appeared, never seen so many happy tears when

my owner carried her in, i guess its a marriage thing-

so I was told.

My rooms were filled with children, five boys and

a little woman.

Every room screamed with joy especially when

MS Momma yelled "dinners ready" if you snooze you loose.

MS Momma cooked so good everyone came around to get

her yummy food. She went away one day and never came back.

I was told people die and go to Heaven that day changed my home

to sad, everyone felt so bad.

I sure miss those early days, most moved away. I guess they

needed a change, had a lot of pain, mostly from those

darn hurricanes.

Which hurricane Katrina swept in , she centered herself above

me surfing her way through on a thirty foot tidal wave, pounding on my door but i did not answer.

so she tried to drown me, but I withstood her boisterous fury,

on that historical day, it took a lot of courage.

I had some cosmetic surgery but mostly lipstick and rouge.

Sure I have a lot of scars accumulated over the years

some cricks and cracks appeared, but they fixed me up,

somewhat new.

The neighborhood has changed, its just not the same. People moved away, guess they needed a change, we did have a lot of heartache and pain

mostly from those darn hurricanes.

Here I stand lonely, my windows boarded shut wondering and

waiting for my next family to show up. Thinking excitedly

who it may be, possibly a great grand kid would come to my

door, that I would so love and adore.

Or maybe they forgot me, they should know I have a lot of life to go.

I have some pictures in my attic of everyone who lived in me.

That is all i have left. its a very big stack- they give me something

to look forward to while I wait in hopes.

love poemssad poetrynature poetry
4

About the Creator

Sandra Doughty (.MS GYPSY)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 5 months ago

    I don't know how I missed this; you have created a poignant, vivid piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.