Poets logo

If Things Were Different

A Poem About Privilege

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
If Things Were Different
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

if I was born in a different place

would I still have the privileges

that I embrace

or would I struggle more

because of my disposition

would people think of me

wanting better

as an imposition

what would I live like

what would I eat

would I have to work harder

to live the life that I lead

would others protest if I asked for better

would they think I’m less deserving

and make me pay more to a debtor

just because of my blood

just because of my name

would they think I’m more deserving

of all this pain

would there be any compassion

or empathetic gain

or would I continue to fight

just to have the same

the same opportunity

the same chance at life

one with some peace

one without strife

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.