Poets logo

If No Man Wanted Me

The Struggle of Feminine Divinity

By Celina JohnstonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

If no man wanted me

How free I would be

From the thief of vanity

To roam with my sisters

And chant to the trees

Released from human habit

of empty culture and deceit

For I see the devil's eyes watching me

Prisoner to my body

Empty vessel ashore

What is your worth?

They call me a whore

But what I want is simple

To craddle the moon

And to feel thistle

To cook with herbs

And to play the fiddle

"Dance with the fire!" my soul shouts

But there is a man before me

My power he doubts

He is accepted by the world

They see me through his eyes

He cannot live without me

I supply the blood line

My hands are gentle but conjur great powers

I would love to show you

But I am changed for hours

Only released when the man has desire

But even then I cannot dance with the fire

They call me weak

But I feel so strong

If only I could get to that place where I belong

I would strip myself naked beneath the night sky

reaching my hands into the power I'm never denied

For nature is my lover, spirit is my guide

But darkness follows in the form of a guy

Who wishes to taint me

Through his eyes, I am forced to my knees

oh, how free I would be

If no man wanted me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Celina Johnston

I don't know much about myself yet. But what I do know is that I love to write. I love to challenge myself to write things that don't necessarily come natural to me. I am interested to see how Vocal pushes my writing abilities.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.