Poets logo

If I were a sculptor...

Poem.

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
69
If I were a sculptor...
Photo by SIMON LEE on Unsplash

If I were a sculptor

You'd be my Venus de Milos

Carve your beauty, curves, and arms

If I were a painter

You'd be my Venus of Urbino

With all your feminine charms

If I were a singer

I'd perform Your Song

and try not to get it wrong

But I'm not a sculptor,

So can't work with wet clay in my hands

Nor am I a painter,

So can't make the paint flow to my demands

And, you know I'm no singer

So can't do a melody justice with my voice

I am a writer

And words are the best way for me to rejoice

That we are still together.

*

Thanks for reading

I am not sure this needs any more explanation. Here are a couple of other things you might like to read:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

artsocial commentaryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirational
69

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (49)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 11 months ago

    I could have sworn that I commented on this one as I read it a few days ago. Great work. I love the flow and choice of words. This is one of your best Paul. Congratulations on the Top Story!!!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Paul - Missed this one! Congrats, and very charming! 😁

  • How very sweet.

  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    Im in love with this one!! great work Paul!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Thought I commented on this but don’t see it so— redo! I adore this one!! And “Your Song” as well. :)

  • Dean F. Hardy11 months ago

    Very nice, Paul. From the heart. Loved how it fell into itself in the end.

  • Check my work https://vocal.media/humor/the-whimsical-adventure-of-bertie-and-gertie and also read it to support me. Thanks!

  • Alice11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! Well deserved.

  • Olanrewaju Ajani11 months ago

    Wow! Nice

  • Sarah Ehizonomen11 months ago

    Wow...nice poen

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    Your Song is one of my fav songs ever! I loved this! You are so incredibly talented. Well-deserved TS!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Okay, I like this. And Elton would approve... Great TS!

  • Lane Burns11 months ago

    This is a lovely poem!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Congratulations, Paul! Well deserved!

  • Naveedkk 11 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    I very much appreciate your poem and I loved your last lines! Congratulations on top story🥰

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Oh my goodness, this is such a beautiful poem, Paul! This little love and adoration/admiration journey was such a beautiful piece of art! I’ve said it a lot, but your versatility it quite amazing– you can write the dark so eerily and the light so brightly. Congrats on this gorgeous top story! 💫

  • Congrats! On the top story and the knack it takes to pull off that love story

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    Just beautiful. Congrats on Top Story

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Gorgeous work, my friend!! Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh12 months ago

    Such a sweet poem! Congrats on TS!

  • Test12 months ago

    Congrats to you Paul 😎

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    This is beautiful! In a way, your poem reminds me of Elton John's "Your song".

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.