Poets logo

If I Only Had A Mother…..

A poem of love

By Donna NelsonPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
7
If I Only Had A Mother…..
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

If I only had a mother who would wipe away my tears

Instead, I got a mother who called me ugly and dumb

I still think of her after all these years

***

Sometimes I cry when I think of her, and

All the ugly words she said to me when I was young

If I only had a mother who wiped away my tears

***

I didn’t have a mother who would lift me up

Instead I got a mother who would tell me I was worthless

I still think of her after all these years

•••

When entered womanhood, my mother quit drinking beer

Even though it took awhile, I learned forgiveness

If I only had a mother who wiped at my tears

***

I remember the time right before my mother died

The summer at the lake we spent together

I still think of her after all these years

***

I wouldn’t change my mother for another

And I cherish the good memories of her

If I only had a mother who wiped away my tears

I still think of her after all these years

Family
7

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Atomic Historian5 months ago

    Some of us have very complicated relationships with our mothers. Thank you for sharing

  • Omggg, I really hope this isn't a true story. But if it is, I'm so sorry 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Antoinette L Brey5 months ago

    Touching poem

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    I am conflicted about the poem. Still only you know why the poem ends the way it does. The beginning just conflicts the end,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.