Poets logo

If I Lived On My Own

A poem for daydreaming.

By Gina Gidaro Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
the way things used to be

If I had the courage to live on my own,

I would never again eat fast food or processed sweets.

I would be a queen, upon her golden throne.

The foyer would have a green jungle undertone,

due to the hundreds of different kinds of plants

if I had the courage to live on my own.

Maybe I would unplug every damn house phone,

and accidentally fail to let anybody know.

I would be a queen, upon her golden throne.

I’d blare music by artists unknown

like Years & Years, Finding Hope, and Echos

if I had the courage to live on my own.

I’d survive in my own time zone

because I wouldn’t need permission, or have to tiptoe.

My God, I would be a queen, upon her golden throne.

I’d bring handsome men home without being disowned,

and start a new career every week

if I had the courage to live on my own.

Oh what beauty to be a queen, left alone on her golden throne.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gina Gidaro

https://ginagidaro.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.