Poets logo

I could've been better

A poem about resentment towards no one in particular

By Gina Gidaro Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
when the rest are asleep

I could’ve been better. I could’ve seen more, asked more. I could’ve worked harder and longer to become some kind of role model. I could’ve spoken out about my concerns. I could’ve said something about the notes, the scars. I could’ve shared my fears of failure (it probably wouldn’t have helped though). I could’ve held in my judgmental looks when you made those choices. I could’ve made more eye contact when you were embarrassed. I could’ve been less avoidant, less passive. I could’ve tried harder to find that balance between hard and soft. I could’ve waited longer for you to get into the school, instead of leaving, allowing you to run off with him. I could’ve trusted you less. I could’ve told them about the secret under your pillow. I could’ve stopped comparing you to others your age. I could’ve hidden the scales for longer. I could’ve gone away, done something of myself instead of being fearful of leaving you alone. I could’ve gotten off my ass and shown you what life is made of. I could’ve tried to stop being so annoyed with you. I could’ve been honest and told you how I felt about the betrayal, instead of letting us move on from it. I could’ve hated you less, or moved on, or let go a little. I could be so much fucking better, but then again, so could you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Gina Gidaro

https://ginagidaro.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.