Poets logo

If I Grow Up...(6)

I want to be a Lullaby

By Kaydie PaschallPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

If I grow up I want to be a lullaby

The first love song of your life

Sung to you the first time

You fell asleep in the arms of someone

Who would give their life for yours.

I want to be the lilt and cadence of your first dreams

In a world that was magical and new

Endlessly undiscovered and infinite in possibilities.

I want to be the melody

That soothed your spirit and

Made the world drift away

Like a fallen leaf in a lazy river.

I want to say goodbye to the sunset and

Hello to the twinkling stars

With a lyric that reminds you that

I love you

And anything

That seeks to harm you

Has to go through me first

Through each stanza, note, chord and refrain

So saturated with a love

that believes all, bears all, hopes all, and endures all

That I know it cannot fail.

I want to be the tune of tenderness

Sung in time to the beat of two hearts

Falling in and out of syncopation

As one grows up and one grows older.

I want to be the melody of memories

Those already composed and orchestrated

And those still yet to be hummed.

I want to wander through your mind and

Be the soundtrack

That is played within your head

When the world falls still and silent and

You pause

From your great adventures

And noble mission

To lower your guard

Close your eyes

Breathe deeply and

Rest.

I want to be the song

Your heartbeat dances to

While rest of you lies still and stress-less

Melting

Into much needed slumber.

If I grow up I want to be a lullaby.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Kaydie Paschall

Training Consultant, Disaster Preparedness Advocate, Poet, Wordsmith, Humorist...I evoke feelings, grins and giggles and on my best days thought and share the jewels and gems of lessons learned along the way. - Disaster Drama Queen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.