Poets logo

If I Could Taste Memories

They'd be Bakeapple Cheesecake

By Cathy holmesPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
26
cloudberries, aka bakeapples (Dall-E generated)

If I could taste memories, I’d like them all sweet,

like favourite penny-candy or home-baked date treats.

If I could taste memories, I’d love them so snug,

like a warm cup of chocolate, steamed in a mug.

They’d be bright Christmas mornings, toys under the tree.

and a brand-new puppy for my brothers and me.

They’d be playing with cousins, and biking down hills.

They’d be first teenage kisses, and amusement park thrills.

*

If I could taste memories, I’d want them to be,

as sweet as those cookies that Mom baked for me.

But truth is that sometimes, those memories are tart,

like a fresh stick of rhubarb picked from the yard.

Not sunshine and roses, as the old saying goes,

but bee stings and tears, scraped knees and stubbed toes.

Sometimes they taste sour, like breakups and fights.

Sometimes they are sickness, and long lonely nights.

*

If I could taste memories, for reality’s sake,

those memories would be Nan's bakeapple cheesecake.

They'd be rich, they'd be creamy, a sweet slice of bliss,

with a tart berry topping that puckered my lips.

They’d be sing-alongs with daddy, in rhythm and rhyme.

Then kisses goodnight, for the very last time.

They’d be playtimes with brothers, and short time-outs too.

They’d be new Easter dresses, and holes in my shoes.

*

If I could taste memories, for better or worse,

I’d want sweet and tangy, with honesty first.

For all of those memories, whatever they be,

belong to that young girl who grew to be me.

performance poetryGratitudeFamily
26

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman18 days ago

    Wow. I so loved this one. Thank you!

  • Lamar Wiggins20 days ago

    Excellent, any way you look at it. The flow was amazing, and the content is full of vivid memories that apparently taste good. I could taste them, especially the baked apple cheesecake.

  • JBaz22 days ago

    Congratulations on being noticed for this piece. it really brings out memories and food should and it wonderful to read.

  • Thank you very much.

  • Yeah absolutely! The memories are so important for us and they can alleviate as well as regret us! Well done.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)26 days ago

    Cathy this was so beautiful!! I love the whimsical yet relatable feel of it! The repetitive language made it feel dreamy and nostalgic. I got chills when I read that last line, like you do when you read an iconic saying or the end of a long series. This was masterful work!

  • L.C. Schäfer29 days ago

    This is glorious and vivid in detail ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll29 days ago

    Very captivating like a snack ♥️Made hungry for homemade cheese cake

  • Beautifully nostalgic, Cathy. I love this.

  • D.K. Shepard30 days ago

    Sentimentally superb! Very well written and teeming with tender moments!

  • Super clever! Loved the idea of tasting memories - ad they definitely would be all the flavours! Lovely entry! 🤍

  • Christy Munson30 days ago

    Delicious sampling of tasty memories. Flavorful and not too heavy. Hits the spot!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was so nostalgic and poignant. Bittersweet. Memories are all that we have now. Loved your poem! Also, I've never heard of cloudberry or bakeapple before!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Was thinking about penny candy today. Boy those were the days. Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Cathy, this is simply wonderful, Top Story work! Every single line sings and rings true. This is poetry in the category of they don't write them like this anymore! If I could taste memories, they would take me back to Grandy's kitchen when I was a boy to gobble up her date pinwheel cookies and lemon icebox pie with a brown sugar crust. Ahhh, if only.

  • A tempting tango of tasteful sweetness

  • Colleen Millsteed about a month ago

    I’d want sweet and tangy, with honesty first. Absolutely love this line my friend 😊

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout a month ago

    This is absolutely stellar- my favorite poem I've read in a while! Love the wonderful melding of flavorful descriptions and wistful reflection. Cheers to sweet and tangy memories, with honesty first! Brilliant work :)

  • Jess Boyesabout a month ago

    That all sounds so delicious! What beautiful memories to have. Loved it 🥰

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    So lovely! We used to pick rhubarb and eat it raw with salt in Illinois!! Never do it now. Such wonderful memories you have in this poem, Cathy!

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    A wonderfully written poem, meaningful and full of memories. It brought back a few for me. Love this one, Cathy!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    OMGSH...there you go again ripping our hearts out

  • Sara Wilsonabout a month ago

    This is precious. I love it 💟

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.