Poets logo

I Wrote A Book, So What?

Here's Why You Should Read It

By Vagabond WritesPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2023
18

I wrote a book, so what? "Love Poems to Girls Who Don't Text Back" is my debut project that is the culmination of years of life experiences, intense emotions, and art. This book means everything to me, and absolutely nothing to you. Therefore, it’s my job to convince you of why you should buy, or at least read my debut poetry book (it’s free with Kindle Unlimited).

So without further delay here are reasons you should buy my book:

Aesthetic

The first and most superficial reason is that the book is undeniably stunning visually. I mean look at her!

Look at the cosmic ethereal beauty! She’ll make a great addition to any bookshelf. Even the interior design is breathtaking.

I will forever be thankful for my cover and interior designer Natalia Junqueira for her hard work on this project.

Content

The second and possibly most important reason is that it’s simply a great read. I know, every parent thinks their kid is special, but I stand by this book being a worthwhile read. If your desire when reading poetry is to have an intensely personal emotional experience this is the book for you. It’s hopeful. It’s melancholic. It’s spiteful, and uniquely human because of the raw emotion on display.

Accessibility

Building on that thought the book is very accessible to any kind of reader. The book is only 65 pages, but is packed with quality content on nearly every page. Whether you like poetry or not you’ll enjoy the content within. I find a lot of poets write poetry in such a way that only other poets will understand and appreciate. My goal was to do the opposite of that. I wanted to express myself in simple poetic form so anyone and everyone could understand. From the warm reception it’s been getting from people in very different walks of life I think I’ve succeeded.

Relatability

This ties into both the second and third points. The book is a great read, and is accessible because it is relatable. It’s written from a very vulnerable perspective that you can either relate to, or empathize with. I know given the title you would expect this book to be for “girls who don’t text back”, but it’s for anyone who’s experienced the whirlwind of emotions that spawn from romantic encounters. Is that not all of us?

Time and Effort

I worked really hard on this book! Now that may mean nothing to you, but I’m really proud of this project! I took the most vulnerable experiences in my life, turned them into art, and released them into the world. For me that’s worth celebrating, and I invite you to celebrate with me. It would genuinely mean a lot to me personally if you bought the book or at least read it. I thank you for even reading this.

So I hope I’ve convinced you to give my book a chance. If you want a look at the process of creating the book you can check out this other article I wrote detailing it.

Thank you again, and happy reading!

listsad poetrylove poemsheartbreakexcerptsbook reviews
18

About the Creator

Vagabond Writes

I sometimes write things. Currently eager to write more, and provide quality content. If you like my writing consider subscribing or pledging. Thanks for the support!

Also follow my Instagram @Vagabond_Writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 9 months ago

    I think publishing one's first book is electrifying yet scary. I, too published on Amazon and thee it sits. Self-promotion is needed. I hope you get some readers who give you reviews. I will have a look at it as I am so very curious! Good luck!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I love the title of the book! I May just have to check it out! Congrats!

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    I definitely melted for the aesthetics!

  • Chloe Gilholy9 months ago

    I love how sapphic it looks.

  • Beautiful 🩷 Congratulations 🎉

  • Honor Honziali9 months ago

    You've done a great job at persuading me, I'm going to go read it!!

  • Amanda Starks9 months ago

    Congrats on finishing your book and on top story!! I hope to be in the book market myself soon!!

  • Reveillez-Vous9 months ago

    beautiful <3

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Yeah!!! Congratulations for writing a book!!! Well done!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.