Poets logo

I Worry How She Is

A Poem

By Otis AdamsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Worry How She Is
Photo by Scott Carroll on Unsplash

I worry how she is

One wrong step, a necessity lost

I was driving to my home

from my old home

The naturally fleet of foot

now with a slow, yanking stride

the deer's spring is sprung by one leg sprained

Three is not always one less than four

sometimes not wholly entire

means food for the gyre

there are wolves in our woods

Not an hour past

I slowed on the road as she passed

now I lay alone in my bed

She's gone off with a wolf now

we were two, now I'm much less than one

One wrong step, the wolf's lip will twitch

I worry how she is

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Otis Adams

Otis Adams is an essayist, fiction writer, and poet. He enjoys and writes about chess, boxing, and television history.

Please consider supporting Otis's work at Patreon.com/OtisAdams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.