Poets logo

I won’t

It hurts

By Amanda McGuirePublished about a year ago 1 min read
I won’t
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I won’t beg you to stay.

I won’t ask you to keep your promises.

I won’t stop missing you when we are apart.

I won’t stop loving you.

I won’t stop offering to help even when you won’t accept it.

I won’t stop being who I am, loving the way I do, or wanting to be with you.

The thing is, the rest is up to you.

You decide if you want to stay in my life.

You choose to keep or break your promise.

The thing about you that I love the most is also the thing that makes things the hardest.

When I tell you I miss you, I don’t say it because I’m lonely, I truly miss you, your presence, your touch, your voice, your laugh, everything.

You’ve said the same to me. But I wonder at what point do you miss me enough to change the circumstances so that we miss each other less?

Or am I never going to be enough for you to miss that much?

Do you love me enough to include me in the parts of your life that I love the most?

I don’t expect you to love me the way I love you, I’ve learned no one ever will.

I know always keeping your promises is impossible but it’s your choice to try.

I wont beg you to stay. I can’t make that decision for you.

I wont ask you to be anyone but who you are. I wouldn’t want you to change.

All I ask is that if you decide to stay in my life, that you choose to include me in more of yours.

I can’t stop loving you, but I also can’t help it when it hurts every time I think I matter and it feels like I don’t.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amanda McGuireWritten by Amanda McGuire

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.