Poets logo

I Won't Apologise

Poetry

By KelPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
I Won't Apologise
Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

Dear Family, I know you'll never read this,

You'd have to show some interest, so let's not pretend, dismiss.

Sorry, Momma, I'm calling you out,

So proud of my abilities, but you wouldn't know what they're about.

“Keep going, you'll make us proud with your words,”

Those hollow words, like mocking, cawing birds.

But as I trudge this path, twisted and unclear,

I realize the lack of support, and it's crystal clear.

In the silence of my verses, where emotions burn,

I'm revealing the anger, the lessons I've had to learn.

These words, my weapon, in the world of ink and rhyme,

Let me channel my fury, through the sands of time.

Your eyes may not see the pain I endure,

My frustration and resentment, my spirit impure.

In the depths of my soul, this truth I must vent,

Every word I write, is a bitter lament.

With every metaphor, a slice of shared disgrace,

I lose myself, as you force me from my space.

Dear family, you'll never truly know,

The wounds you've caused, the seeds of my woe.

So here's to the future, where I'll stand alone,

In this war of words, I'll build a heart of stone.

With resentment in my soul, my pen as my guide,

In this world of anger, I'll seethe and confide.

CONTENT WARNINGsocial commentarysad poetryparentsvaluesgrief
2

About the Creator

Kel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 6 months ago

    Wow, this is heartbreaking but you’re very talented with words!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.