Poets logo

I Wish You Were Here

You can’t undo where we are now

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Wish You Were Here
Photo by Edu Grande on Unsplash

The light stays on for many nights

To cradle dead hearts in this fight,

It’s not like they know what we were,

It’s just that smiles don’t hide this hurt.

Know at rock bottom, I called out,

Look at the lovely love I’ve found,

You know my tears could mean two things,

You know it’s never as it seems.

.

I’m not okay,

And in my dark, I hear you softly say,

You’ll be okay,

I’d stick to you if all the world’s a stage,

.

Hide, hide my pride, I wish you were here,

All the same, you’re just one of my many fears,

Hide, hide my pride, I need you, dear,

But I’d never want to have you near,

Don’t forget me on your course

To a future of glory and gore,

I keep opening your door but

I never really know what all of this is for.

.

The dark gets darker when you’re down,

And even more when you’re not around,

I wish you well in all you’ll be,

But would you wish the same for me?

You can’t pretend we never were

You can’t pretend that you don’t hurt

You can’t undo our foul mouths

You can’t undo where we are now

.

I’m not okay,

And in my dark, I hear you doubtfully say,

You’ll be okay,

I cling to you like girls and pepper spray.

.

Hide, hide my pride, I wish you were here,

All the same, you’re just one of my many fears,

Hide, hide my pride, I need you, dear,

But I’d never want to have you near,

Don’t forget me on your course

To a future of glory and gore,

I keep opening your door but

I never really know what all of this is for.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you would like to support my writing, please consider liking my story, subscribing, pledging and/or tipping. Thank you for reading!

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.