Poets logo

I Wish

A Poem From "Wandering"

By Jake SnyderPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I wish that I were different,

But in some ways stayed the same,

I wish I were more prepared to play a losing game,

I wish I could rewind time,

Or skip the parts that all seem bleak,

I wish I could find the treasure in places I do not seek,

I wish I could wake up one day and realize-

It's not wise-

To cut the ties-

Which made my life unique,

I wish I had the power to change the outcome from the start,

I wish I could communicate what lies within my heart,

I wish I knew exactly where it is that I intend to go,

Or from a birds eye view the path were clearer when I look down below,

But patiently,

So patiently,

The puzzle I arrange begins to form an image which in some ways looks quite strange,

The idea I had in mind does not seem to have appeared,

I wish I had never signed the contract for it's exactly what I feared,

Why is it someone cannot take time wasted and issue full refunds,

I wish I could admire the man I have become,

And somewhere in the distance I have determined in my head that the unknown is not promising but a detriment instead,

I wish I never felt an unidentifiable dread,

But if you were to ask me what I would wish for first,

I'd most likely answer with something pre-rehearsed,

So I'll tell you what I wish for that gives me strength to move ahead-

I wish for a tomorrow where I am capable of getting out of bed.

nature poetryperformance poetrysocial commentary
1

About the Creator

Jake Snyder

An avid writer specializing in poetry of the soul and a life long Bi-Polar Type 1 advocate and survivor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.