Poets logo

I wish I were him.

There are some things that we cannot be, no matter how hard we try.

By Dante Arrivederci Published 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
I wish I were him.
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Oh look, it's him again.

As he walks by,

those moon-eyed eyes of yours,

trail behind his.

What's it like, spending time with him?

Bright eyes, red lips, pink cheeks, starry smiles?

And Here I sit alone, under a starry sky

awaiting my final call.

When I see him with you

my blood doesn't boil.

It just shrivels into lonely red dust

carried by the winds of time.

That hue you have around him

dims into a bright grim

when I'm around you.

It's as if a beautiful light was snuffed out by Prometheus

except Prometheus is me

and i stole my own light.

Does it matter? Has anything ever mattered?

We are but transient clouds.

We take form, we rain, we disappear.

The same monotonous, pointless existence.

And then you come along.

The dying embers of a fallen fire.

I reach out with the hope that you would too.

And yet here I am,

lamenting about a future,

where you won't be mine.

love poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dante Arrivederci

Hi.

Hope you're having a good day.

If not, there's always tomorrow.

i also have a blog - https://dantesaysgoodbye.blogspot.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Izumi 0510 months ago

    Beautiful!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.