Poets logo

I will stay strong

a poem

By Emma DatsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
A picture of the author, Emma Datson

I’ve been told that my legs

Are my best feature,

That my blue glitter heels

Were what I had needed,

To show off my delicate ankles

And my muscular calves,

It’s just a shame that my,

Thigh muscles are always inflamed.

I’ve been told that my,

Old fashioned sway back,

Is a sight to behold,

My wrists match my ankles,

So very small and elegant,

My fingers are so long,

A bit crooked and fat,

Now also marked by disease.

I’ve been told for someone

Who loves the sun so much,

And for my age, that my skin,

Is still so soft and elastic,

Though wrinkles have now,

Set in upon my face, and

My neck is becoming loose,

And my chins more obvious.

Antisynthetase syndrome

Is what I have,

It means that all my proximal

Muscles are always inflamed,

Plus some other stuff too,

It seems to be spreading down,

My arms now, and more scarily

Across my chest into my lungs.

Whilst autumn has firmly set in for me,

I am not that old, surely?

To have my body keep getting worse,

No matter the walking I do,

Steroids and pills the only

Things that controls it,

That is controls, not cures it,

I am old before my time.

Nevertheless, I strive to live

In the light and love always,

There at my center,

Life is so much more carefree,

What will be, will be,

Therefore, the present I live in,

Happiness the state I choose,

No matter how medically interesting I become,

I will stay strong, I belong.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Emma Datson

I am 40ish, medically interesting, Australian poet, who is finally using her voice. My superpower is my vocabulary. Dive in and read an eclectic mix of poetry and creative non-fiction, full of love, grief and hope. Light, love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.