Poets logo

Emma's Word of the Day

Number 1, June 2021

By Emma DatsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2021
28

I have done "Word of the Day" on Facebook for almost 10 years and I have decided to start sharing my words of the day with you now.

I do "Word of the Day" because I am a word nerd. Words have always been so powerful to me, the way you create rhythm with them, or just the simple beauty of some words and their meanings. My words of the day are a mix of my favourite words, new words I come across while reading, and golden oldies. I can't help myself, some words deserve more than one round.

I am presenting this here in poets in the hope that one of my words may provide you the inspiration you need. Words, after all, are what poets use to create their art, so the more words you know the better. Well, that's what I think anyway. I hope some of you agree.

I try to do my word of the day daily, but sometimes life happens, so these posts will present what I managed to do in the previous month. This is my very first time doing this, I hope you enjoy them.

I present to you my June 2021 words of the day.

(Please note I use Australian spelling as I am Australian.)

June 2, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Jeremiad - a long, mournful complaint or lamentation

June 2, 2021

June 3, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Tenebrous - dark; shadowy or obscure

June 3, 2021

June 6, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Indeed - used to emphasie a statement or response confirming something already suggested

June 6, 2021

June 8, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Phubbing - snubbing someone you are with by playing with a mobile phone

June 8, 2021

June 9, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Wordsmith - a skilled user of words

June 9, 2021

June 10, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Overmorrow - the day after tomorrow

June 10, 2021

11 June, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Spuddle - to work feebly and ineffectively

June 11, 2021

June 12, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Lothario - a man who seduces or attempts to seduce women as a matter of habit

June 12, 2021

June 15, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Splendiferous - excellent; very beautiful and special

June 15, 2021

June 16, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Gratitude - the quality of being thankful; readiness to show appreciation for, and to return kindness

June 16, 2021

June 17, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Aplomb - self-confidence or assurance, especially when in a demanding situation

June 17, 2021

June 20, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Iniquitous - grossly unfair and morally wrong

June 20, 2021

June 21, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Liminal - occupying a position at, or on both sides of, a boundary or threshold

June 21, 2021

June 27, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

C'est la vie (French) - that's life

June 27, 2021

June 30, 2021

Emma's word of the day:

Crux - the decisive or most important point at issue

June 30, 2021

July's Emma's Word of the day now available for your reading pleasure!

Light, love

list
28

About the Creator

Emma Datson

I am 40ish, medically interesting, Australian poet, who is finally using her voice. When I was young, I became obsessed with words and books, it was then I discovered their power. Words have magic, I hope you find mine do. Light, love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.