Poets logo

I will not be an inconsiderate mom even though I was raised by one.

Emotional poem

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
7
I will not be an inconsiderate mom even though I was raised by one.
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

“You pulled my ear hard and told me I’m a dumb girl”

My mom: “I don’t remember doing that”

“You compared me to your friends’ sons and daughters”

My mom: “I don’t remember doing that”

“You blamed me for not knowing your login information”

My mom: “I don’t remember doing that”

You obeyed your whale friend on how to discipline me, was it necessary to hit me?

My mom: “I don’t remember that happening”

Well guess what mom? I fucking remember,

I fucking remember when you didn’t say anything while I was being bullied. I fucking remember having to deal with harassment from your friend’s sons while she was taking care of me.

And I ask myself, if you truly don’t remember,

Did I mean nothing to you when I was a child?

Tell me if my feelings matter to you now that

I am a mom,

If you truly don’t remember, what important things

do you remember then?

If you truly don’t remember, do you purposely forget when you create wounds?

I also think about what you would say to me

if you do remember:

You would say something like

“When I was your age I dealt with so much and I didn’t complain”

Mom, maybe you didn’t complain, but you were still hurting,

And I wish you wouldn’t put me through what

your parents put you through.

I will fucking remember when my daughter cries,

And I’ll be there to ask her: “Honey, what’s wrong?”

Unlike you, I won’t say to her that I’m her

mom and she can’t go against me because of that.

Unlike you, I won’t call her disrespectful if she

doesn’t think like me, instead I will be willing to

listen to her.

Instead, I’ll put others in their place if they

dare to think that their kids are better than her,

Remember that time when your friend’s daughter

got straight As in elementary school and you would tell me that Cs and Ds won’t get me

anywhere? You believed that grades are what determined success.

But I won’t be like that towards my daughter,

I’ll explain to her that not understanding a specific topic doesn’t equal her being a stupid girl.

I mean, you know nothing about writing, nothing about literature or poetry, and I never considered you to be stupid.

Mom, I still love you, but I don’t feel a strong bond,

I want my daughter to love me and feel like she can trust me.

sad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
7

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Breaking cycles is tough. I think all of us mess up as parents in some way or another, but no one wants to think we are "bad parents" so our brains fudge the details 😔 So maybe she really doesn't rememebr, but that is not commentary on your loveability. A mother's first job is to protect her little ones, and it can do tremendous damage to their psyche when she fails 😣

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    OMG my moms the same way. Whenever I mention something she did wrong she “doesn’t remember” then calls me “disrespectful and hurtful” for bringing it up. Like, it’s disrespectful and hurtful to do it in the first place lol. Anyway, relatable! Definitely write more, you’re a good writer!

  • See, this is why some people (like you) should have kids and some people (like your mom) shouldn't have kids. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.