Poets logo

I Wear Red

I wear red for my sisters

By Tamarack VerrallPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I wear red for my sisters whose blood flows monthly

I wear red for my sisters whose blood is spilled through beatings

I wear red for my sisters whose blood flows through wounds inflicted

I wear red in rage that my sisters whose blood flows monthly

Are beaten and raped, insulted and silenced, held captive, and murdered

I wear red so that we can find each other

I wear orange with red for my young sisters

Denied school or pulled from schools when red begins, forced into marriage

I wear orange to temper and strengthen my red

Fold in my red melting with orange expanding, changing, creating community

Widening, illuminating, respecting, finding and embracing these girls

I wear yellow celebrating and drawing deep inside the power of the sun

Source of energy, unending warmth, I send my desperate and deliberate cry

For the strength to right this inexplicable wrong

I wear green for the way my heart beats to the rhythm

Of the dance between the grasses and the leaves

I wear green to hold in my heart the girls and women

Who were robbed of this joy, sudden ending to lives

Hearts that knew only sorrow, terror and pain

I wear blue and turquoise, our magnificent rivers, lakes and oceans

Washing over and healing all the wounds of my sisters

I wear blue and turquoise in celebration of our voices

Our hearts’ desires rising in our throats, calling each other

Full throated, loud and strong, filling the air with vibrations

Shifting us into these long awaited changes with every story we hear

I wear indigo in awe of our night skies, moon, stars, planets

As we gently spiral through the Milky Way together

I wear indigo in awe of our ability to draw inspiration

I wear indigo to imagine, I wear indigo to manifest change

I wear purple, celebration of my independence and fierce love for women

I wear purple to open my mind to all possibility

I wear purple in defiance of all we are told we cannot do

I wear red for the love of women whose blood flows monthly

I wear red for the day that every woman and girl is free

I wear red in celebration that we are finding each other.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.