Poets logo

I Was Born Yesterday

Every day it seems

By Robin EdwardsPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I Was Born Yesterday

I was born yesterday

everyday it seems

still tripping over shoestrings

left undone

for no one

...but me to try and fix

But the bow is always loose

and the shoes never do fit

just like my life with you

filled with thorns

and broken sticks

You like to gather words

like mushrooms in a field

but only the poisonous kind

that you throw at me instead

...my shoes wait silently..

right next to the screen door

I’ve learned how to run now

in my calloused scarred bare feet

far far away from you

down the broken street

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Robin Edwards

Robin is a veteran, having proudly served in the United States Air Force. She worked as a speech therapist for several years before retiring. She enjoys writing, working on art, and margaritas!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.