Poets logo

I wake up weary

when will this part of me fade

By HufflecupPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
31

I wake up weary

the sorrow deep in my bones

put on my best shoes

and fill them with stones

take a walk in the ocean

the sirens calling me home

will I rot away

or will the lobsters call me gourmet

anyone could end up on the menu

you have my gratitude

if you let me fade quietly into melancholy

bleeding into the tides

breathing into the sea

bone dust drifting

there is plenty of fish to feed

a noble end

drowning the weary part of me

sad poetryMental Healthheartbreak
31

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Gargie S Anand3 months ago

    So perfectly composed. We still have to put our smiling face for the world to see.

  • Ruby Red3 months ago

    This is excellent and well deserving of the title of Top Story! Congratulations 🥳

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Beautifully written.

  • J. R. Lowe3 months ago

    So dark, but such beautifully written descriptions

  • Marie Wilson3 months ago

    Thanks for sharing & congrats on TS!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Great line ‘ or will the lobsters call me gourmet’ Congratulations

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Very morose thoughts, very well expressed. Congratulations!

  • Fathima Faheema3 months ago

    congrats on the top story

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Back to say congrats on top story!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Oh my. So sad, yet beautifully written. Congrats on the TS.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    I felt every word. That was really well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.