Poets logo

I’ve Read Your Letters.

Covert Narcissist.

By LPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
I’ve Read Your Letters.
Photo by Liam Truong on Unsplash

I've read your letters,

And now

I find you, all the more,

Terrifying,

Irredeemable;

You’ve always been this creature,

A lithe ghost of nothingness.

Gossamer fills your every crevasse.

Who are you?

I’d wager you’ve never known.

And so,

I can only work more furiously

To widen this divide between us,

A decade under false pretense.

Your delusions

Are the the scariest monster I've faced.

Now I must depart or I’ll be erased.

Worse still,

I am alone in my recognition;

Of your mask

Your never-ceasing tears.

Those tears,

For yourself

And your self imposed martyrdom.

I've read your letters

And this is goodbye.

sad poetry

About the Creator

L

“By hell there is nothing you can do that you want and by heaven you are going to do it anyway”

Anne Spencer

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LWritten by L

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.