Poets logo

I’ve earned my smile

A poem

By Sophie MortimerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

You can tell who never really cared

One bit about your happiness

By the way they react

When you actually find some

-

They told me they only cared for me

That what they wanted was my smile

But when it grew to split my face

Theirs slipped and faded out of view

-

They pointed out all the reasons

I shouldn’t be happy the way that I am

I was doing it wrong, they said

Their way was the only right way to be

-

But I have had enough of fighting

And justifying myself to them

My happiness has been fought for

And I intend to feel it my way

-

Maybe I am making mistakes

Maybe this is all gonna end in tears

But I’ve walked through hell to get here

And burned and learned my strength

-

So stand in my way if you feel you must

But remember this as you do

I’ve fought much bigger monsters love

And I’m not scared of fighting you

- S.M

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Mortimer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.