Poets logo

i've been thinking too much

the esoteric dread edition

By Marlowe Faust Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
i've been thinking too much
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

I am an Individual and everything I crave is

for Me.

I am selfish and everything I think

somehow disintegrates into

a narcissist’s prayer.

I want to indulge in the sensible meaninglessness

of everything around me.

I could kill god;

I could love it.

but in the most neglected corners of my mind,

I am a cliché:

I mourn a mysterious broken connection.

I run my hands over my chest, face, body –

convinced I am missing a piece of something.

on my knees in the shower,

I still cry out for a sign.

for meaning,

for hope,

for purpose.

I am ashamed afterwards,

by what I perceive is a weak mind.

I am stubbornly convinced my brain is cursed.

I use chemicals to shush my intuition

but as above, so below

and this fucking abyss never blinks.

I am consumed by fantasies and ignorant thoughts.

I am a slave to societal norms.

I am the embodiment of Sloth.

I am tormented by self-awareness.

I am bound to daily penance,

even when I’ve done nothing wrong.

I drink and inhale to run my fingertips over the surface of divinity,

but fuck . . .

I’m even lonelier when I come back down.

I want to stay nestled,

infantile,

in the godly arms of addiction

and I like to linger at that precipice often.

I vividly see the violent war in front of me

but my bravery sinks,

my brilliant thoughts stagnate,

my brain rationalizes,

and I laugh darkly at the thought of something more

than pushing this rock endlessly

up a hill

that men of authority

built for me.

I brush past an inkling

that there’s a reason for these human conditions:

this limited perception,

this loneliness,

my fleeting happiness,

the devils at my back forcing me forward,

my need to stop this poem to pee.

I try to acknowledge my humanity

while also letting go:

holding myself under the lonely tides

in the hopes that my near-death euphoria will

give me the answers

that I want

but am unable to comprehend.

My ego is holding me by the throat

and the only way to escape is to accept

I don’t actually need to breathe.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Marlowe Faust

I try.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.