Poets logo

I too am an American

A poem

By KellyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
I too am an American
Photo by Samuel Branch on Unsplash

I too am an American


Soil as deep as the color of my skin


These lands that bore the tears of my kin


They weep along in remembrance

I too am an American


Do I not bear the blood of those who also fought for our independence?
Bearing the stripes of this land of liberty on their backs
. Wounds from an unforgettable past. 
Risking it all for acceptance.

I too am an American


Bellies bursting with violation
. Newborns screaming out, abominations.
Infants born of mothers garments torn and master’s hands sliding up their thighs. 
They cursed the skies as they parted with their innocence
. No one to console their cries.

I too am an American


Fathers trembling. 
Brothers have gone missing. 
In town there’s a l*nching.
Families consumed by anguish.

I too am an American

These stripes and these stars - they tell stories that keep children up at night
.

War, murder, r*pe, genocide

I too am an American


This pain embedded deeply in my DNA
. A part of me
. Passed down from past generations
. Losing all patience, fed up with efforts of assimilation. 
I cannot wipe away the shade I was born in
. So I’m left mourning
. An outcast of a nation that refuses to acknowledge my worth as a human
. Still waiting on the future my ancestors died for.

I too am an American


Flesh perked up from the ground. 
Flag waving proud
, as we are stripped of our pride
. Told to hide who we are. 
Erase our heritage
. Become more “American”.

They say but that won’t wipe the pain away or clear our DNA of the trauma that was inflicted. 
Century after century.

Yes this land is a part of me as I am of it. 
Regardless of my kinky hair and dark brown skin. 
I too am an American. 
Pain, pride, suffering all mixed in.

I too am an American


I too am an American


I too am an American

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kelly

Hello and thanks for visiting my profile!

I have always possessed a love for reading, writing and poetry and am so grateful to have the opportunity to share my passion with others.

I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.