Poets logo

I thought we were building stone castles

a serious limerick

By R.C. TaylorPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3

you admitted you wouldn't have cheated on me if I wasn't a Black woman and that day

I showed you Lemonade since I thought it could say all the things I couldn't say

about how since girlhood I had prepared for this inevitability, heart etched like mattoir

still, I thought I could build us back up like Beyoncé and teach you about misogynoir

but, as I found out, sandcastles don't work out that way

social commentarysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreak
3

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure, nostalgia, and other affairs of the heart, and anything else I want to honor and hold space for).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This is awesome, RC, as usual. Packed full of so much raw emotion. That first line sunk me though. If that's autobiographical...I am sorry that happened! Great work with this poem.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Love this song. Great poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.