Poets logo

I thought it would be raining...

Poetry

By Dahlia DreamsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I thought it would be raining.

We met in a haze.

My dress was tight,

pink and black stripes.

I was a dreamy queen bee,

all pastels.

Drunk on nectar,

saving a smile for you to kiss.

We don’t take many pictures.

There’s one for each year,

left unframed,

just in case it’s too good to be true.

I thought we would be barefoot

but this wasn’t our place

where we leave our shoes at the door.

This was before.

You were watching me.

Subtle,

I almost couldn’t tell.

I thought I would be smiling

and I was.

One look from you can do that.

I know that now.

I worry about us sometimes.

Being this deep,

I keep waiting for that moment when

the fire goes out.

As if there will be a day where you look at me

and I could be anyone.

In the margins live the doubt,

seeded from failed relationships that you had no part of.

There was no looking away from those knowing eyes.

The lamps danced in smoke.

Twilight hands and falling dominos.

Your eyes twinkled,

no longer heavy with a love lived and lost.

All of that faded away, away.

Replaced with what could be.

So, I thought it would be raining

but the skies were clear

and the moon was almost as high

as we were.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Dahlia Dreams

I'm a night owl that specializes in fantasy, smut and poetry. I am currently working on getting published and meeting other writers and readers. Please reach out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.