Poets logo

I Thought I Was Broken

but I was born this way

By HufflecupPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I shouldn't even be here

I came too early

and my mom got scared

So I think it's pretty fucked up

My lungs suck and my muscles don't motherfucking work right

Because I was born on the wrong damn night

I didn't ask for this

But it's what I got

On the good days, I don't mind

But I'm a little anxious so those days are hard to find

I feel like I'm always breaking

Pain that shouldn't be there

Muscles always aching

My childhood was taken

An old man before my time

Never had a prime

Toxic masculinity told me not to cry about it

I'm still working through that

When you're a man repressing your emotions just becomes old hat

I shouldn't even be here

I'm kind of a miracle

I didn't think anything was wrong with me

Until my friends started to look concerned

I know my limitations

That confidence took work I'm proud of what I've done

but I hope this isn't my finish line

I have dreams that have yet to come true

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.