Poets logo

I Surrender

To the Pause

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
42
I Surrender
Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

White flag.

Gripped tightly in my hand.

I surrender

to what?

I wish I knew.

******

The visions

I want to see

come to my life,

seem to be on hold.

Why the pause?

******

I rest

when I need to.

Work when I

am inspired or need

Yet, the pause,

feels awful

******

The Creator's

will be done.

I surrender.

I surrender to

faith that all

will be well.

******

After the pause.....

I will surrender

and rest in peace

Knowing that

all will be well

******

I am clueless

to the intentions

the Creator

has set for me.

for now,

I surrender to

Resting in peace.

sad poetry
42

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    Congratulations well done

  • Lara hush10 months ago

    Love it

  • JBaz10 months ago

    No wonder this was a top story. Love it

  • Awesome ✨📝😉and Congratulations on your Top Story❤️🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Ariel Joseph10 months ago

    So beautiful & relatable ❤️

  • Joe Patterson10 months ago

    Beautiful and relatable.

  • Ikechukwu Modungwo10 months ago

    I too have questioned the pause for a while now and I'm just learning to surrender. Sometimes I feel like I know exactly what I want to do but then the realities throw up obstacles that encourages the pause. So naturally I'm caught playing catch up, trying desperately to achieve the dreams that vividly continues to plague me with a clarity of purpose. I love your poem, it spoke my true feeling.

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Overwhelmed by your emotive words of humility, yet, “I am clueless… for now” illustrate a deep trust and faith that encourages me. Thank you for sharing and congratulations. 🥇

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Superb work. This flowed so well. Congrats on Top Story.

  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    Congratulations on getting top story

  • Insightful - good read - thank you

  • Lucis Caligo10 months ago

    Surrender to all uncertainties, and perhaps one day, you may find the peace that you so long for. Congratulations on the TS - it's a marvellous piece of work.🖤

  • Clyde E. Dawkins10 months ago

    Absolutely deep! Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    To surrender is not the same as giving up. You have touched on something beautiful here and I thank you for it!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Superb!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This is poetic magic! Just stunning! Actually speechless for once! congrats on a sublime Top Story!

  • Thank you everyone! Feels so good after all this time.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Super work! Missed you on here! Praying that everything works out the way you want it.🙏🏾

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    fantastic writing! I enjoyed it immensely..Congratulations on the Top Story

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story Pausing and waiting are certainly not easy! ❤️

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Congrats on your TS! I like the idea of surrender, rest, not knowing, and being open for whatever may come!

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    So unique! I love the concept of surrendering to something unknown, and letting your faith hold you there, as you wonder what the purpose of the surrendered space is... I have a hard time accepting times of slowness or pause, where the path forward seems shielded. What a great pick for Top Story. Congratulations!

  • Estrellita López10 months ago

    congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Wonderful and relatable. It's fascinating how you've been able to employ a melancholic, yet hopeful tone for this poem. Congrats on a well-deserved TS.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Marvelous, Well deserving of the Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.