Poets logo

Today

My Son

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
3
Today
Photo by ERNEST TARASOV on Unsplash

Today

I watched you slither away.

no thank you

no good byes

Just gone.

******

Today

I didn't know

who I was looking at

not who I remember

no, my son is gone

******

Today

you, I saw

weakness or submission

to people who don't

deserve the son I remember

******

Today

I craved a hug

yet not for the first time

wont be for the last

or will I have to remember

those too?

********

Today

tonight I wonder

if this old heart

will mend

knowing you are

out there somewhere.

******

Tonight

I will pray

and ask the universe

To bring back

The son I want to remember

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist10 months ago

    So sorry❤️ Sending prayers... we have a daughter that is struggling. We keep saying that we are lucky it is only 1 out of 7. It doesn't make it easy!!🌹

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Heartbreaking and melancholy!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.