Poets logo

I stole the moon from sky

In a literary fit and faux pas

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
I stole the moon from sky
Photo by Alexander Park on Unsplash

Snuggled in my favorite rocking chair by the moonlit pond

I dreamt of the possibilities teeming far beyond the stars

What if I were to fly way up to the magnificent moon

Harnessing her infinite power of pure white gold

While rescuing the long lost man of fabled moon's doom

And sneaking a peek at Jupiter, Mars, and planets afar

What wonderous occasions for my literary persuasions

Hoping fervently that inspiration entices fantasy from the air

Could I just catch, grab a hold of the moon as it silently slid by

Can riches be found in the spinning and weaving of tales

Most splendid are ideas etched within distant moonbeams

Cyan clouds jealously cover the moon, eclipsing her light in time

Concealing her voluptuous rounded beauty from my sight

Considering that she has no right to do such a dastardly thing

I yanked em' both down from the starlit and twinkling sky

There in the pond they will forever accompany me and deliver

Sumptuous words of literary vocalization, phrasing and modulation

The world of night will certainly go dark, you vociferate shrilly

If I imprison the moon in a dark pond of my personal making

What do I care if the wretched world is plunged into perpetual dark

To bed they would head, crime would certainly, hopefully be stark

You reason and reason, I see your point, I completely agree

To allow the moon and cloud back up high into the darkened sky

As soon as they make me rich and famous with words of such elocution

I could compose forever the very best literary and artistic convolutions.

performance poetrynature poetry
1

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I love how whimsical and elegant this piece feels! Your narrative voice you used feels so well chosen. Like a motherly figure reading a well loved poem to her child, as bedtime approaches. I found it inspiring and euphoric!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.