Poets logo

I shall roar

Just once more

By Cora KPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Those who abuse, who dare harm innocents

They learn their mistake, upon my wake;

For I am the protector of the weak.

My roar rare, reserved- deserved

For the evils who strike.

Predators hunt, they stalk and leer;

A bumbling bunny- a target of ease.

Or so it seems.

In darkness I prowl, I bide time until a strike can release me.

I watch, I judge, I hold my tongue,

My roar held close, prepared to burn.

Nothing withstands my beast, not once it's released.

My cries are small, heart on my sleeve,

but cross my path and soon you will see;

A bunny turns to a lion, in times of need.

A calm ferocity; A honed, hidden beast,

the lion shaded inside of me.

A bumbling bunny is what you see,

For my true form need not show, to be.

One more time.

One more predator.

I can take once more.

I say that every time- 'Just once more.'

One more roar and we'll be safe; One more fight until the end.

The end never comes. For there is no end to evil.

So there, too, is no end to my roars.

Whether you burn,

or whether you flee;

You'll soon learn,

You can't escape me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cora K

Bit of an odd duck, with a variety of interests and styles! My writing is my heart and soul; I hope everyone finds something to click with as I add more to my collection :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.