Poets logo

The Storm I See

Inside of Me

By Cora KPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I look around,

Everything is calm.

Nobody seems to see the storm.

I look around,

Smiles everywhere.

Nobody sees the despair.

I look around,

And then I cry out.

Nobody hears.

I look around,

I see the rain;

I see the storm.

The storm comes in, brazen and fierce,

all I can do is cower.

The storm comes for me again.

I feel myself twist away,

Everyone else begins to drift,

Gone.

Lost.

Everything is dark.

I look around and see myself, everywhere.

A monster.

Nobody close, nobody to fear.

Nobody to hear.

I smile and run; free.

I look around,

Bright colors are everywhere; beautiful.

Not monsters.

I look around and all I see is what I will never be;

Happy.

I see a bright light, a smile, a heart-

I break it.

I see a small light, a child-

I shun it.

I see a clear light, a love-

I lose it.

I see an intense light, a friend-

I fear it.

I see a gorgeous light, a dream-

I follow it.

I lost sight of all other lights. They fade away.

I still follow.

All the other lights flicker out, forgotten.

I follow.

Everything is dark, but I chase the light.

I fall.

In the dark, I realize the lack of light suddenly.

It's too late.

The darkness surrounds me, welcomes me;

I am part of it. I belong.

It opens its arms and smiles, and old friend.

The comfort of silence drifts in.

I smile.

Happy? I wonder. What does that mean?

I walk into the dark, unaware of the light hidden beneath.

The light is unaware of me.

I stop, mid-step, and spin around fast.

The path is broken, everything in ruins.

I am the storm.

My rains tear the ground, my winds whip the trees

Humans flee.

I refresh the land, I let the strong stand.

But the humans, they leave;

Nobody likes a storm.

Nobody wants to stay and face it.

I grin, arms spread in joy.

I shout

I stomp and cheer!

I holler and whoop, this time not in fear.

I stomp in rhythm and sing a song-

I am the storm, and I am strong;

I won't disappear!

You can't forget me, for I am always here!

I cackle with glee "I'm here! I'm here!"

Thunder cracks, and then all falls silent.

Stuttering to a stop, the city grows cold;

Eyes are wide, mouths all 'O's.

They finally see the storm

Just as it leaves.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Cora K

Bit of an odd duck, with a variety of interests and styles! My writing is my heart and soul; I hope everyone finds something to click with as I add more to my collection :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.