Poets logo

Get out Alive

Run

By Cora KPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Everything is new, painfully so.

Nothing is known, all to be feared.

I look around and see nothing;

Nothing to help, nothing to hold,

The only surroundings are beautiful and bold.

I am not that bold.

I shy back, afraid, ready to run.

Everything freezes, joints turn to ice;

Ice that will melt with the slightest touch of warmth.

Ice that will shatter with every new breath.

Ice that will shatter with every new smile.

Running, impossible; staying too hard.

Everything's screaming and tearing apart.

A shout from the dark,

"Stay back!"

A whisper deep inside,

"Listen to them"

A smile.

A gentle caress.

"Follow me."

Gently, a deer learning to walk,

Learning to fall,

I follow.

Time continues, ice melts;

Too much heat.

Everything aflame, my eyes wide with fright;

"I made a mistake!"

I should not have come.

"It's too late now, you are already here!"

Stomping around, fear in the air,

Though in reality there is nothing to fear.

A whisper inside.

"Get out. Get out fast."

I run.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cora K

Bit of an odd duck, with a variety of interests and styles! My writing is my heart and soul; I hope everyone finds something to click with as I add more to my collection :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.