Poets logo

Kaleidoscope of Colors

Art Is Everywhere

By Cora KPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
To my daughter, I pass my colors; my heart, my mind, my style, and my passions

When people think of colors, they think of those they see.

But inside of me are colors; a raging cacophony~

The vibrance swirls together, art in their own right;

Everything has color, if you search beyond the sight.

A ferocious love of being, a passion beyond all men;

My colors shine throughout my life in everything I am.

Emotions have a color, unseen, but always there.

For colors paint the soul, beyond the eye’s aware~

When I show my love, I show a vibrant red;

A color filled with warmth, that swirls inside my head.

When I show my joy, my color it is blue;

A shining light above the sky, something I hold true.

Passions paint the heart, with colors I hold dear;

When I paint my life, my heart frolics light with cheer.

I have a million passions, a million delights.

When attention deficit kicks in, it sparks a new path alight.

A million colors in my soul, each and every day;

A million patterns in my heart, to share in every way.

When learning something novel, I paint my brain anew;

A beautiful adventure, a hunt for what to do.

A kaleidoscope of reds and greens, purples and oranges too;

Adventures within hold allure for me, the beauty ringing through.

I share the colors of my brain, with those that I let near;

For in my written word, there is something for all to hear.

Fights for my beliefs, bring out strong bright hues;

I come alight with blends, pulling out something new.

A lion has a roar, a dog may have its bark,

But inside me are my colors, waiting in the dark.

I yield my fury hard, and throw my colors far;

They serve me in a battle, painting on the scars.

My body, too, is canvas, something to be seen;

My outward appearance is a tool, meant to light my gleam.

I paint my hair and pierce my skin; so I may see the colors from inside;

I changed my clothes, accessories too; to shine so bright.. I nearly cried.

There’s a beauty to hidden color, something for all to seek.

There, too, however is beauty, to seeing a spirited physique.

Art and colors are everywhere, if only you could see,

But none of it more beauteous, than those shared from inside of me.

I share my colors with the world, regardless of if they're seen,

My colors go beyond; a feeling, a word, a sight- they are all a team.

The thing that makes me special, is not my colors alone;

The thing that makes me special, is how much my colors have grown.

My hues are shared with others, and theirs are shared with me;

Together we’ve made a world for my child, full of mediums to see!

My colors they were dark, hidden in fright and tears.

But they grew to be something more, for my daughter, and for me.

Now my colors shine bright, for all the world to see!

For my daughter’s eyes are watching,

and I want her to be free.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Cora K

Bit of an odd duck, with a variety of interests and styles! My writing is my heart and soul; I hope everyone finds something to click with as I add more to my collection :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.