Poets logo

I Remember You

A Poem for the Awkward Little Girl

By Ashley AndersenPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I remember you, the little girl with dreams so large

You believed in us so much, I should’ve let you stay in charge

You were so good at playing pretend, making up stories in your head

You would pretend to fall asleep so Dad would carry us to bed

I still tell stories sometimes because I still like to play pretend

But it’s not as rewarding now, the stories always have to end

I remember you, the little girl who couldn’t fit into little girl clothes

We couldn’t shop at the cool girl stores, I guess that’s the way it goes

You were smart and you were funny, you were talented and you were kind

You didn’t look like the other girls, but you didn’t seem to mind

Until one day someone said something to make you feel a little bad

Another little girl who also may have been a little sad

So now we look at our body and we see all the things that are wrong

Even though you were still the same little girl just trying to write her stories and sing her songs

I remember you saying no and not being listened to, not being heard

I remember you speaking up and being told you were absurd

I remember you making stuff up because the truth was more painful to speak

I remember shutting you up when you were feeling weak

I started to just laugh you off as an awkward phase I had to endure

I made fun of you and cringed at the way we were before

But now I always grip so hard so I won’t lose control or step out of place

I think I can’t bear to be you again with embarrassed tears streaming down our face

But If you could see me now I think you wouldn’t feel so scared

You wouldn’t feel so alone, and out of place and unprepared

And if I could bring you here, when I worry and when I judge

I’m sure you’d say I’m doing great and hand me a Vanilla Coke and bar of fudge

I remember you, the little girl with dreams so large

You believed in us so much, I should’ve let you stay in charge

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Andersen

Just moving through it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.