Poets logo

I pushed the Microphone Down

Tribute to an Unknown Hero

By William KingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
From the Book "Season of Waking Nightmares" available on Amazon

I pushed the microphone down.

He was speaking those famous words.

The Television camera could not see him.

So just in time, I put my hand in the way

And pushed the microphone down.

The words he spoke would have been the same

There would have been no change in history

There was no real importance

To my act you see

His face held such emotion

His heart was full of conviction

But you would have never seen all this

If I had not pushed the microphone down

My place in history is assured

Although no one knows my name

As long as people watch that speech on TV

You will all see my Legacy

I pushed the microphone down

You can see my Hand and my intention

I just wanted the world to see him

It was my job you see

As long as the speech is replay

As long as Dr. King’s Dream lasts

You can see me

I pushed the microphone down.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

William King

Gen X Dad, Musician, Writer, Artist and Visionary. These are the thought that invade my mind. I share them with you! Do you feel lucky! YOU SHOULD!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.