Poets logo

I Promise

To My StepSon Who Will Never Understand How Much Of A Hero He Really Is

By JLoveePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

Your Eyes Were Full Of Fear

And All I Wanted To Do Was Take It Away

You Were Too Little To Be That Afraid

So I Promised It Would All Be Okay

That No Matter What

I Would Protect You

You Believed Me

Then She Ripped You Away

Turned You InTo A Weapon

Made Sure I Couldn’t Keep My Promise

Then Laughed When You Cried For Me

Never Told You I Spent Years Chasing You

Tryin To Save You

You Were Worth EveryThing

I Would Have Gave AnyThing To Give You EveryThing

They Said I Shouldn’t Have Made A Promise I Couldn’t Keep

But They Didn’t Know How Much I Was Willing To Lose Just To Get You Back

Chased You EveryWhere

Dropped EveryThing AnyTime She Called

Just For The Chance To See Your Face

Wanted To Make Sure You Knew

Id Do AnyThing For You

Hoping One Day We Would No Longer Have To Survive

That We Would Be Able To Live

Hoping One Day Fear Would No Longer Be In Your Eyes

I Just Wanted To Save You

And All It Took Was A Phone Call To Change EveryThing

I Gave Up EveryThing WithOut Hesitation

And Came Running

Didn’t Even Think About It

I Just Knew I Had To Keep My Promise

Had To Make Sure You Knew You No Longer Had To Be Afraid

That You Knew You Would Never Be Alone Again

Id Always Be There

And Now Here We Are

They Can Never Take You Again

And Even Though I'll Never Be The Same Hero As You

I'll Never Break The Promise To Keep You Safe

And I'll Never Leave You

I Promise

To Keep The Fear Out Of Your Eyes

And To Love You Unconditionally

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

JLovee

Poet. Story Teller. Not Here For A Long Time Just A Good Time..

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.