Poets logo

I prefer color

to black and white

By Wendy WorthingtonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@reneefisherandco?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Renee Fisher</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/black-and-white-with-rainbow?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

The world was black or white.

There were no shades.

No spectrums

No in betweens

It was faith and obedience

Or shame and death

A boy kissed me

Color flashed in my periphery

My marriage ended and shades crept in

A girl held my hand and told me I was beautiful

More color

More shades

I sinned and rebelled

Sought pleasure

And freedom

And rejection

And acceptance

Fuck obedience

Double fuck shame

Colors exploded all around me

There is no faith

Because there is no God

And the blacks and whites and grays

Are only meant to make the

Purples

Red

Blues

Yellows

Greens more vibrant

My life was never made for black and white

Not when the world is filled

With so many colors

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Wendy Worthington

My passion for writing started at a young age and was quickly squashed by a culture of misogyny. It has taken me a lifetime to find my voice again and it turns out it's really fucking loud. Sorry about that.

Just kidding, no I'm not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.