Poets logo

I Once Hated My Curly Hair

An ode to that which I've come to love

By Sarah GlassPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
4

Fluffy, frizzy, loose, and tight

Yes, they're natural, alright!

***

Thick and warm for winter days

Cut them short for summer heat waves

***

You drink up all the water and conditioner

Add some gel to keep frizz my prisoner

***

Flip you over and massage the roots

In a matter of seconds, I've got a poof!

***

Each strand with its own personality

A variety from my Irish nationality

***

To express my creativity

I clip you up into captivity

***

Twists or braids along the sides

Donned with jewelry of all kinds

***

Why did I ever brush you out

As a child, I'd scream and shout

***

Funny how genetics decide

Those repressed and those applied

***

My three siblings have hair so straight

One would never guess they carried the trait

***

To think I used to loathe my curls

Wanting to look more like other girls

***

But when I learned the proper care

You bounced back from frizzy to curly hair

***

Sure, you take extra work each day

But I live for that amazing display

***

So, thank you curly Q's, twists, and springs

For all the creativity your craziness brings

***

Curls or kinks, if you have them too

Know you're beautiful through and through

love poemsinspirationalhumorart
4

About the Creator

Sarah Glass

It started with FFX fanfiction stories and my love for creating a world to escape to when reality's teeth sank in too deep. I'm an artist, a dreamer, and I have an original story I've been working on for 8yrs. Time to get it published!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Dear Ms. Sarah your poem captures a sense of pride, acceptance, and joy in the uniqueness of curly hair, offering a positive and relatable message to those who share similar experiences. Well done!....💖👌👍

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. Sarah - I read what you wrote after Ms. Gold's presentation ~ she's just her unique herself ~ a very good thing to be. Your comment is so meaningful - it's not about what others can do - it's about what they can do for themselves. If we are 'original' writers' - and you certainly are a marvelous StoryTeller - within any type of venue' then we should write with our hearts; not with what we can 'snip.' *I apologize for this intrusion but as I scroll through your lovely presentations I feel strongly that you have the 'tude and talent to go very far with the 'Ink'. *I've subscribed to you with pleasure. btw; Tell your Buddy, Ms. N - Curls are no Biggie when you have no hair at all - And, say hello from J.B. Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I feel this so hard you have no idea. I used to use relaxers on my curls, or bleach my hair platinum and lay novelty colors over it… but do that because bleach destroyed the curl pattern. Only these past few years have I come to love my hair the way it grows out of my head. You stated this so beautifully. 🥹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.