Poets logo

I Never Forget to Mention There Are Tenderness Requirements

Does Anyone?

By The Dani WriterPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
8
Photo by PNW Productions on Pexels

Well…how gentle can you be?

...

My question arrests momentum

usual progression from this to that

separates thoughts that coalesce into compounds

with potential to change state

from where we are

to “Where are we going with this…with us?”

An open border

this off-limits part of me allowed access by you.

A fertile ground

never ploughed never bound

but can register a trust-reserve breach in seconds

because I own vulnerabilities

now poised

beneath you

sharpened steel

my eyes a plea

of every external validation you will offer

that survival rates are high

to surety without certainty

and guarantees on a gamble

of feather-light touches over my indwelling traumatic fears

and self-imposed affliction screaming to drown out all it hears.

Questions that need answerings

of how careful you’d handle delicate dreams unseeded

unrelenting curiosity and darkest desires unheeded.

I could not be more serious about sensitivity

and drawers full of tee-shirt slogans

citing unintentional lacerations and bruises

for emotions scraped to bleeding

mind abandoned mid-freefall

body constricted with circulation impaired.

Exponential recovery time and preventative measures

means restricted access nowadays

In-depth sensory screening for self-restraint

softness

inclusive sweetness as standard

and often sad

but not swayed

by realities reached

if I have to say

...

So long.

***

(To access this poem in audio on SoundCloud click here.)

Photo by Fillipe Gomes on Pexels

Many thanks for reading my personal shout-out poem to all the sensitive ones. With everything going on in the world, I appreciate that we are still here.

Your support helps to fuel my passion for writing. You are welcome to heart/comment/subscribe/tip/give shout-outs/share on social media with author credit, and/or ko-fi me if you'd like because it truly warms my heart.

(Originally published in The Power of Poetry on Medium)

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
8

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)7 months ago

    Wow, Terrific♥️💯✌️📝😉

  • This one is so very meaningful. I can tell this one comes from the heart and the soul. I took my time to carefully read each line - some I read over twice in order to fully understand your meaning and feel the soul. You definitely have a natural flair for this type of writing and I love how you do it so gently and beautifully.

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    Beautiful work! I’ll check out the audio!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    I love that "softness" got her own line ❤

  • Lena Folkert7 months ago

    Wow. As usual my friend you touch my soul. I’m crying. Too sensitive I suppose. No other words. Just yes. It resonates. And it’s beautiful. 💕🫶

  • May all become sensitive to those who are sensitive--to one another in all our interactions. And may tenderness, grace & love prevail.

  • Your poems are always so deep, profound and emotional! Thank you so much for writing this!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Love your last line!!! Another unforgettable poem!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.