Poets logo

I miss these colours I cannot see

.

By Mia SpencerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
evening at home

I Miss These Colours I Cannot See

I am reminded daily of this human eye

A gift of all this wonder,

And its limits.

To see all that is truly available

Within my small spectrum, I burst with feeling.

Ribs groan to contain the fullness of my heart when I look upon the purple so deep and vast,

that stars dare to be set upon it. What follows?

What sits in between the green of sky at just the right time

After sun has left

And the yellow that I can feel fills the room, a moment before

My favourite person does.

There is so much more to blue than ill ever touch, know or feel.

How did the brightest orange flicker its way inside, bringing deep calm and presence?

What lays before red? The one that stops my motion entirely, to consider the leaf that left the tree.

There are creatures on this rock, I know see more than I.

More than my eye.

And this pleases me

To know I miss these colours I cannot see.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.