Poets logo

Cigarettes and Wildfires

There's a fire in my bones.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
8
Cigarettes and Wildfires
Photo by Irina Iriser on Unsplash

The drugs slip away and yet the black stays.

Dark shadows color my skin,

Seeping through my skin and tainting my bones.

There are black holes in my marrow.

What are they consuming of me?

What is so sweet that they can keep growing

Effortlessly?

.

Smoke.

There's a wildfire tearing through my cells,

Devouring whole quadrants of my muscles

And the smoke has made the factories of blood in my bones

Sweet as the devil's apology.

It is infinitely burning, infinitely eating

And there is nothing to quell it.

.

The light on my event horizon is beautiful,

Bright like the embers flaring between my lips,

Caught in the cavities of my teeth.

Was that the entrance?

No, this fire started from the wound in my chest,

The flicker of a dream falling through a dark night

Onto the chaparral of my soul, burning, burning, burning.

__________________

Other poems in this series:

Cigarettes and Placeholder Dreams

Cigarettes and Cheap Highs

Cigarettes and Car Rides

Cigarettes and Blood Lust

Cigarettes and Empty Thoughts

Free Verseslam poetryperformance poetry
8

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard19 days ago

    Entrancingly good as usual with plenty of edges that keep things sharp! Loved: “There are black holes in my marrow. What are they consuming of me? What is so sweet that they can keep growing Effortlessly?” The flow and metaphorical weight was excellent!

  • So poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

  • D. J. Reddall21 days ago

    You continue to conjure smoky, saturnine scenes with skill!

  • Heather Hubler21 days ago

    Oh, I need to get caught up on this series ASAP!! Wow, I loved the dark, gritty feel and just so many of your word choices. I loved the whole damn thing!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.