Poets logo

I Married a Man Who ...

(If that's what you call him)

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
8
I Married a Man Who ...
Photo by Ye Jinghan on Unsplash

I Married a Man Who …

... repeated everything I said to the people I spoke about in confidence – even when requested “Please don’t repeat this.” He would say “OK. You know you can tell me anything.” So I didn't speak.

***

… would laugh at and ridicule my dreams. One time I said “I want to write a book” to which he said “what do you have to write about.” So I didn’t write.

***

… mocked my taste in music. So I didn’t listen to music.

***

… told lies about me to my friends. So I didn’t have friends.

***

… told lies about me to my family. So I didn’t trust family.

***

… didn’t approve of my dietary choices, or any choices, really. So I didn’t choose.

***

… decided to inject himself into every aspect of my life. So I didn’t have a life.

***

… was afraid of me. So I fulfilled that fear -

I divorced that man.

I do all those things I abandoned in his fearfulness.

I speak, I write, I listen, I trust, I choose. I have a life.

This is basically an experimental piece, so insights and feedback, good or bad, would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

sad poetry
8

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.